CED VideoDisc and Player Discussion Forum Index CED VideoDisc and Player Discussion
Forum topics can be anything related to SelectaVision CED's, and could include offers to buy/sell/trade, repair advice, historical anecdotes, caches of CED's you've discovered, etc.

Click on the Register link to join.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Realistic Player with confusing issues?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    CED VideoDisc and Player Discussion Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ParkerVanc

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2020 7:02 pm    Post subject: Realistic Player with confusing issues? Reply with quote

Hi, I’m brand new to the CED world with a machine I got at an antique shop and upon tearing it apart, I’m very confused. So I put one of the discs on and physically took the disc out (it was already scratched up and it wasn’t a movie I cared about) so I could see the motor running underneath. Of course the belt was bad so I removed it, but the motor, with the disc tray at its max height, was spinning clockwise, as if it was trying to go higher. So I manually spun it the other way and a metal bar hit a plastic piece which caused the motor to stop and the turntable motor to start, but that was around halfway down. I don’t even know where to start!
dumbchemist

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2020 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Man, I cannot help you very much. Go to this http://www.cedmagic.com/tech-info/belt-replacement-guide/belt-specs.html for belts.

I only have the circuit diagram for the player and a copy of the book: Complete Guide to "Laser/Videodisc Player Troubleshooting and Repair". (This book is available from Amazon; but, at a price of $106.) The guide is split about 50/50 between laserdisc players and CED players.